Tuesday, October 11, 2011

A Toast to Mickey and Julie

Mickey and Julie Haranda. Hands down, two of the best people I know, two of my most favorite people in the world, two of my good friends, two people I can't imagine NOT having in my life have just had their one year anniversary!!! CONGRATULATIONS!!! It seems like yesterday I was at their wedding and I'm still as happy for them as I was a year ago...I freaking love those two and I can't wait to see them next time I'm in Houston!!! So, here's to you Mr. and Mrs. Haranda, you two are seriously wonderful people and I wish everyone was just like you :] 

On a side note, I hate my job. I know, everyone in America says that, what makes me special? Nothing. But still, commiserate with me a little bit. I'm really trying to make the most of the situation that I'm in but in all honesty I hate waking up in the morning just for the fact that I know I'll have to go to work. I really, really dread going in each day. I love the people that come into the facility, I like the people that I work with on a day to day basis, but what I hate is how we get treated. The executive director doesn't consider us ("us" being the people who work at the front desk) to be part of the "professional staff" which is BS. If anything we're probably some of the most professional people because we know everything that is going on each day and we bear the brunt of the complaints and yelling and questions that people have. It's not a hard job, it's nothing fancy but it is probably the most thankless job I have ever had. Anyways, I digress, I could go on and on about how horrible my job is but I'm not going to.

For the past few weeks I've been feeling pretty down about how my life has been going while here in Kansas. I love the town, I love seeing my sister every day (even if the feeling isn't reciprocated) and I am SO excited for my nephew. But the thing that is so difficult for me is that I don't have very many friends. I definitely don't have anyone I can call up when I'm having a bad day and ask to go get coffee so I can vent, I rarely go out on weekends, I really have no social life. Granted, that's not a bad thing at all, but I would just like to have a friend that I can go to and know that I can count on them. However, I got a good piece of advice from a guy up here that I'm talking to and he told me that I need to stop thinking about Texas so much and look at what surrounds me here and my life here will only work out if I want it to, I need to find out what's important to me and let things flow. And he's totally right. I think that since I'm dwelling on the life that I left in Houston I'm really not able to really start my life here, and that's something I need to remember.

So, back to the real reason I started writing this blog (sorry Julie, I got a little side tracked when I went on my rampage). Mickey and Julie. I wish you two all the happiness in the world, you guys are always in my heart and I love you two so much and I hope you have at LEAST 74 more anniversaries.

Love y'all :]

Friday, October 7, 2011

Just Another Day...

I wish I was talented enough to write a book. I'd sell it as fiction but really it'd be a story of my life with a little bit more flair. Honestly, how cool would that be? I think I've had a pretty interesting life, granted some parts are a bit more boring and dry than other parts but that's why I would embellish things, make them slightly more entertaining. Badass? Yes.

True or false: Life sucks when you have no friends. Answer: True. 

Friday, July 8, 2011

Speechless...

Sometimes I amaze even myself with how stupid I can be...I am supposed to be driving down to Ft. Worth today for drill and I realized just yesterday that I have no freaking clue where I'm supposed to be staying or where I'm supposed to be going to actually drill. I emailed my Senior Chief and he gave me the contact information for the guy at the Ft. Worth NOSC who is in charge of berthing, so hopefully I'll get something back from him today. Otherwise, Senior told me not to come and just request AA's if I have no berthing. We'll see what happens. I'll just gear up like I'm going to go down there today and if not, great, if so well, not so great but I don't really have a choice.

In other news, Casey Anthony...let me hop up on my soap box real quick because I haven't had a chance to do so yet...HOW IN THE HELL DID SHE GET OFF?!?! There are way too many holes in the case for her to have even had a shot at getting released. I don't understand how a jury could have found her innocent of murder, we all know she did it. At the very least she should have gotten some kind of a negligence charge if Caylee actually drowned in the pool. What kind of a parent could have their child missing for a month before she reported it? I honestly don't get it...if I was on that jury I would have been the ass hole who caused a mistrial because ain't no way that girl is innocent. HER DAD THINKS SHE DID IT!!! To me that means something...there's a special place in hell reserved for people like her. I hope, on her first day back on the streets, that she gets hit by a bus and dies. That's what she deserves.

Ok, you wanna hear something totally nasty? I'm not even joking, this is gross and pretty unbelievable...a woman drowned in a pool. That's not unusual, what's strange is she wasn't found until two days later. Still not entirely out of the ordinary. What's strange is that she drowned in a public pool that had lifeguards and other people there swimming. So a lady drowns in a public pool and no one notices for two days...impossible, you say? Nay, says I. Apparently the water in the swimming pool was so cloudy that no one could see her until her body eventually floated to the surface. Now what's really gross is the fact that people were still swimming with this lady's body for two whole days!!! GRRRRRRROOOOSSSS!!! And what's even more disturbing is a little boy told one of the lifeguards that the woman went under the water and never came back up and the lifeguard totally dismissed him. WTF?!?!?!?! I know that when I was lifeguarding if the pool started to get even remotely cloudy it was my responsibility to make the water clear again, and if someone told me that a swimmer was drowning or whatever I would be in the water SO FAST you would think my ass was on fire. You can't dismiss things like that, if you do you're obviously terrible at your job or maybe your company doesn't instill the fear of God in you like mine did. I know if I didn't keep the pool deck or bathrooms clean I would get nailed to the wall. Anyways, that's all I have to say about that, it's just gross and disturbing. Here's a link to the story if you want to read it: http://www.myfoxboston.com/dpp/news/local/woman-dies-in-public-pool-in-fall-river-25-apx-20110629

That's all for me today, I'm working on getting some laundry done so I can have clean clothes for the weekend...

Monday, July 4, 2011

July 4th Weekend

HAPPY 4th OF JULY!!!

I'm SO wiped from this weekend, we (me, Sarah Jane and John) drove down to Houston for the weekend to hang out with the family and go to a baseball game...oh my goodness. I am so tired of driving, I'm surprised I'm still awake, I can hear my bed calling my name. But this weekend was SO MUCH FUN and it was also a much needed break from the monotony that is Salina, Kansas.

I got into town early Friday morning and unloaded the Mazda and helped Bee get acquainted with Bo, April, Teddy and all the cats. I talked with Meatloaf and Dad for a bit, took a shower and went to bed at 5 in the morning. The reason I know it was exactly 5 was because as soon as my head hit the pillow my alarm went off :( NOT an excellent start to the weekend, but whatever. I think I slept for about 6 hours until the dogs woke me up, so I get up and start getting ready for a VERY long day.

Here's my weekend in a nutshell, I'm too tired to dish out all the details...

Friday:
Wake up, take Elizabeth with me to get lunch for my BFFF, Lindsey, because she was going to Vegas Saturday and that would pretty much be the only time I got to see her. So we did that, then we hoofed it over to Ramiro's apartment to meet up with him and Clinton and Dianna to go shopping for outfits for Clinton's party that night. It was a "Jungle Fever" themed party so we drove down to Harwin, which is this kinda sleezy place off of Westheimer to go look for outfits. Dianna and I got the sluttiest animal print dresses for $20. It's nice that everything is so cheap there, that way I don't have a dollar attack for buying something so horrid. So we left and Elizabeth and I went back to Cypress to run some more errands for Meatloaf then we went home and got ready for this party. Much to my chagrin I find out that Ramiro invited Elizabeth to go so Meatloaf pretty much made me take her. Good thing she acted like a decent human being while we were there and she didn't embarrass me at all. So, here's some awful pictures of the party, and please, please, please don't judge me. I'm really not a prostitute...

 Me and Dianna
 Ramiro in his drag
 Dianna and Clinton
 Clinton in his outfit



Beer pong :)

So that was Friday. Here's Saturday:

Wake up, get ready to go to Sarah Jane's baby shower. I knew about this in advance, however, I thought it was going to be at our house. Nope. It was at a tea room...I was forced to go there while my dad and John Carson are out at St. Arnold's brewery having a grand old time drinking beers...something about this was not fair...well after this little festival of babies I go home with EK and we both take naps, she jets off to the drive in movies with some of her friends and I go meet up with everyone else at Don Julios for dinner and margaritas :). After that I drive myself down to the outlet mall because I was in desperate need of some shorts for the ball game on Sunday. Then I grab a Redbox and head home for some Narnia action.

Sunday:
BASEBALL GAME DAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The Astros vs. Red Sox. So, I'm 99.9% stoked about this game, I know going into it that the Astros are going to lose, I actually thought they were going to get spanked, but that didn't happen!!! It was 2-1 Sox, and both of those runs could have been avoided by the Astros if someone hadn't blown a throw to home when someone else was stealing the base, or if some dumb ass manager hadn't decided to walk a batter which in turn caused the bases to be loaded when the Sox's next batter was their big stick. But whatever, I'm not paid millions to make those decisions...anyways, I had SO MUCH FUN!!! I love baseball, I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the Astros and that's pretty much my most favorite place in the world. Humphrey Bogart said it best, "A hot dog at the ball game beats prime rib at the Ritz." And that is so true...my heart belongs in the Juice Box, that's where I'm going to marry Hunter Pence at :) he just doesn't know it yet...oh, and P.S. I HATE Red Sox fans. I don't have any feelings for the Sox themselves, but I wanted to punch all of their fans in the face. Especially that loud ass guy sitting behind us...

Game photos!!!
 Choo choo!
 My love striking out
 We LOVE baseball!!!
Hunter Pence. Love him.

And to wrap up the weekend, that night I went out to Big Texas to meet up with my most favorite cousin, Kasy, and some of his friends to see Roger Creager. But since I had to drive back to Kansas the following morning, I left around 12ish but it was still really good to see him. And Creager. He's always fun.

Monday:
Drive. Drive. Drive. 12 hours of it. I never want to see the inside of a car again...and neither does Bee.

And that's the 4th of July weekend in a nutshell. Now, trying to go to sleep with all these fireworks going off is going to be a bit of a hassle...it sounds kind of like Afghanistan...

Good night, and Happy Independence Day.


Monday, June 27, 2011

I Think I Need a Drink...

So it's been a few days since my last update. I'm sure everyone was just dying to know what's been happening in my life in the past month or so...nothing. That's what I do now, I just kind of sit around. Ok, well that's not entirely true, I do go to work. I applied at another place for a full time job but they haven't called me back yet. I need another job so I can get an apartment and a new puppy!!! I want one that looks like this:
Awwwww!!! I want a cute little Australian Shepherd dog and I will name him Walter...This doesn't mean I don't like Bo or April, but they belong in Houston. My dad would be way too sad if I took Bo away from him and April would be depressed without Bo and Teddy around. She acts like she doesn't like them but I know she does...or I could take April up here with me and then just get my little puppy anyways. That's not a bad plan...

Anyways, so I'm going to Houston on Friday hopefully. I asked for the week of the 4th off and I haven't seen the schedule so I'm not sure if I am actually going to get those days off or not. I'm really hoping that I do...I need a break from this small town life. It's not bad, I really don't mind it up here, but I miss my friends and family and I need to go out! I need a real mall, I need Starbucks and bad drivers and traffic and hobos. Ok so I really don't need all of that stuff, but I just want to see my family and the Astros. That is something I ABSOLUTELY CANNOT live without, no matter where I am, is the Astros.

So, funny story: I learned how to knit so that I could make Sarah's baby a blanket for when it's born. Turns out I'm pretty terrible at it AND my shoulder and elbow are killing me...hahahaha I don't get injured from running or playing sports or anything normal like that, I get injured from KNITTING...oh how the mighty fall...I'm so embarrassed.

Oh, now it's time for a serious story and this one REALLY chaps my ass...when I was younger and dumber than I am now, still in high school, still thinking I'm hot shit, I briefly (6 hours, give or take) dated a football player. I thought it was a good idea because he was a senior and I was a sophomore and I'm sure there were some other reasons I had but that was six years ago. So I "broke up" with him and you would think that's where the story ends. Nope.
He graduates and joins the Marines, gets sent to Iraq, we write letters back and forth, I would get those few early morning phone calls from him, etc. There was always something there between us but we never really acted on it, we just stayed pretty close friends. So it's like that for the next two years, then I graduate and join the Navy, get bounced around and then I'm back in Houston and he's out of the Marines and living in San Antonio.
Over the course of the past four years we saw each other a few times, we hooked up once and every other time we just talked and did some other things that were less bad than hooking up...like I said, there was always something there between the two of us but we never dated again. Mostly because there were a few times we were together and he had a girlfriend that he was cheating on, so I don't trust him AT ALL...anyways, long story short it was like this for about five years and then I pretty much told him I was done with him when I deployed to Afghanistan, but he didn't listen.
Well, my friends don't like him, my sister says he and I have a very unhealthy relationship (which is true) and he just wants to date me for some reason, even though we fight like cats and dogs and I'm a douche to him (also true).
The other night he and I were talking - I had been drinking and he took full advantage of that - and I was talking about my version of paradise and he just started talking about how he could make it so much better, basically blowing hot air up my ass, and then he says that we should be together and like always I said no, but this time I gave him reasons why not. I think they're pretty legit reasons NOT to be with someone, for example, we're not even dating and we fight until we're ready to kill each other and I know he's a cheater so I can't trust him. He turns them into reasons why we should be together, we fight because we care, he cheated on an ex with me and that's the only time he's done it.
I told him that I can't trust him any more than I can throw him and he says, "I swear on my own heart that I would never cheat on you, I really feel like I love you. It's crazy when we are together, we can't keep our hands off each other (false, I can keep my hands to myself, he can't). I can just never see myself cheating on you." AND HALT: I thought we had squashed this at least a year ago, I've told him I don't want to date him, I'm all about being friends but he doesn't seem to understand that...I know he knows I still have some feelings for him but not enough to want to be in a serious relationship.
Anyways, so he continues with, "I want you here with me (in San Antonio), you know I would provide for you, you know I would treat you like you have never been treated before...Come live with me and I promise you that you won't regret it. You won't have to pay for anything, you can go to UTSA with me." Ok, 1) you couldn't pay me enough to live in San Antonio, I HATE THAT PLACE!!! And there is no way I'm going to go to UTSA. 2) I don't need to be provided for, I can take care of myself, and I like paying for stuff. 3) How the hell does he know how I've been treated before? I guess he's just assuming that every guy I've been with was a total d-bag and he's gonna be my knight in shining armor. Whatever. So I tell him, "I can't live in San Antonio, I hate it there. Besides, I'm not gonna leave Kansas, my sister needs me, I have a life here."
I'm done, that's where my story ends and I think that's where it's gonna stay. I'm not going to encourage anything else from him.

I should find a Kansas farm boy like this one...

Yummy :)

Wednesday, May 11, 2011

Just Fishing...

Well, my first week in Kansas went off without a bang. Thursday we went to a car show down at the DQ here in town, classic cars roll up every week. It was pretty cool...


 


I've just been working and trying to figure out how I'm going to make it with one part time job but I guess I'll have to figure something out. Hopefully I'll be eligible for 100% of the Post 9/11 GI Bill so that way when school starts I'll receive some money for a housing allowance. I know after this trip to Texas for drill I'm going to be completely drained of cash.

Went fishing Sunday at someone's farm and I caught a HUGE large mouth Bass. We fried that bad boy up for dinner Monday along with some Croppie, it was all delicious!


Wednesday we have a fish fry for the Church and then Trina's birthday thing. I have no idea what I'm going to get her, I guess a card (obviously) and then something else. No idea what. I don't really know her that well and I'm surprised she invited me but it should be fun.

I have to drill this weekend, not really looking forward to that. I got my car road ready today, now I'm pretty much completely tapped for cash. I had to get 4 new tires which ran me almost $600 then an oil change which ran me another $40. Now I'm flat broke and I have no idea how I'm going to swing the drive to Texas. Good thing though, next month I should be picking up some more hours at the YMCA because one girl is quitting. I know the week of the 22nd I'm scheduled 6 days of the week. I'm getting the sense that Wednesdays are my day off since I'm never scheduled then, which is good.

I'm really hoping for a tornado to hit town right as I'm planning on leaving so that way I won't have to leave :) That would be super.

Saturday, May 7, 2011

Stupid Baby Names

Ok, I'm all for originality but kids names these days are STUPID! There is no originality anymore because all the names sound the same. What happened to names like Sarah, James, Rebecca, Scott, etc? Why do parents feel the need to name their kids something stupid like Rayden, Kemper, Ansley, Brayden, Kaylen, etc? I think people are forgetting that their kids are going to have to grow up, they're not going to be cute little 2 year olds forever. What happens when they're 40? If your name was Ocean, would you want to respond to that when you're that age?

Here's a list of the top 10 most hated baby names in America, and unfortunately, they're probably the most popular ones right now:

Girls:
1. Navaeh (Heaven backwards)
2. Destiny
3. Madison
4. Mackenzie
5. McKenna
6. Addison
7. Gertrude
8. Kaitlyn (not the name specifically, but more of the strange spelling. Originally spelled Caitlin)
9. Makayla
10. Bertha
11. Hope


Boys:
1. Jayden
2. Brayden
3. Aiden
4. Kaden (see a pattern?)
5. Hunter
6. Hayden
7. Bentley
8. Tristan
9. Michael (apparently it's "too boring" but I disagree)
10. Jackson

90% of those names are stupid and made up. Personal opinion, I'm not a huge fan of trendy names, I'm a traditionalist, I'll name my kids after someone in my family (ex. Elaine after my grandmother and John after my dad).

According to some articles parents who choose trendy names for their kids, 5-10 years down the line, end up hating the names they chose for their kids. Well duh, that's because you picked a shitty ass name.

I'm done. This subject makes me really mad for some reason.

Friday, May 6, 2011

Plumbers...

So the plumbers came today to fix all the things wrong with my sisters pipes in her house...I'm all for fixing things but I wish they would hurry up so that I can go to the bathroom!!!

A nap would be nice, too...

Tuesday, May 3, 2011

Kansas

Well, I managed to get my butt up to Kansas when I said I was going to. Now that I'm here I realized how much all of my friends back home meant to me and how much they did to keep me going, even if they didn't realize it. Not that I don't love my sister but I have no one besides her and that's very difficult for me because I'm a social person. Granted, I love alone time, but for the most part I have to be around people that I know. But I know that this move is going to be good for me. I needed to get away and get on my own and start my life and this is probably the best way to do that.

So far since I've been here (today being the second day) I have secured a part time job at the YMCA, I have taken a tour of Kansas Wesleyan University, talked to an admissions councillor, financial advisor and a professor. This seems like it might be the place for me to be. KWU is a very small school (850 kids total for this past school year) but they seem to have their ducks in a row, which is good. Also, a good thing about them is that they're a Yellow Ribbon School meaning that since I'm eligible to receive the Post 9/11 GI Bill my tuition and books are paid for and I'll receive BAH :] (for those of you who don't know what BAH is, basically it's a housing allowance that Active Duty Military receives). Not too shabby I suppose. My plan right now is to start in the fall but if everything falls into place soon then I might start in the summer. 


Next step is to find a place to live. Right now I'm staying with my sister and brother in law, but I can't stay here forever. There is an efficiency apartment across the street that's not too bad for a starter place, especially being single, but it's teeny tiny. And they're asking $375/mo. for it plus electricity. That wouldn't be too bad if the place was a little bit bigger or if I didn't also have a car note and insurance to pay every month. I'm just going to have to see what all my expenses are/will be and then go from there. Depending on how much I make at the YMCA and how much BAH I get I might be able to swing something like that. I would like to have a little bit more room than that, but we'll see. Hopefully everything works out and I don't end up homeless on the streets with no car.


Right now my biggest fear is running out of money and having to have someone bail me out. That can't happen. I'm not the best with handling money but I've always managed to pay my car note and insurance, even if that meant not having money for anything else. But add power bills and rent to it, plus all of my other expenses like gas, food, things for my dog, emergencies, traveling, etc. It'll be tight. Maybe I could pick up a roommate and get a bigger place and split everything. That wouldn't be too bad I suppose. I'll just have to keep my eyes out for a good deal and then snag it.

I just really, really hope everything works out for me. So far it has but it's only been two days.

Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Dating Problems

I had an epiphany last night at the Astros game as to why I'm always single. Ready? I think it's because I know that unless I get a guy that's a professional baseball player that looks exactly like Lance Berkman, Craig Biggio or Hunter Pence, it's not gonna work out...so I'm gonna keep hoping for my MLB star.

Friday, April 22, 2011

Queen of Clean

You know, I'm not the cleanest person in the world, I'm definitely not OCD about things but I do think I'm kind of a neat freak. I hate messes and clutter, and it's really not much to ask someone to clean up after themselves. And then there's my brother-in-law. You ask him to help clean and he will find something else to do (like sleep), make some lame excuse of why he can't or just say no. Like yesterday, I worked on THEIR laundry all day long, didn't even get it halfway done and when John gets home he just goes straight into his little office and disappears. He didn't even say, "Hey, thanks for helping out with the laundry. Is there anything you want me to work on?" Nope, he didn't say jack squat. So when SJ gets home she's kind of appalled that a guest is cleaning her house so she tries to get John to help out before he goes to church. She walks into his office and says, "Hey John, can you come out here and put your laundry away and take the trash out?" and he says, "No because as soon as this is done ("this" being some TV show) I'm going straight to church." WHAT THE FUCK IS THIS GUYS PROBLEM?!?!?! He needs to realize that if he doesn't change his nasty ass habits NOW then later on when the baby comes, someone (probably me) is going to call CPS and tell them that they're raising the child in unsafe living conditions and the kid is going to get taken away. There is dog crap in the basement that has never been cleaned. I don't even want to stay here. It's nasty and I feel bad for SJ that she has to put up with it, not that she's the cleanest person I've ever met but she's better than this.

Wednesday, April 20, 2011

Spring Spheres

So I finally made my trip up to Kansas today, I left my house around 0330 and didn't get up here until 5 p.m. Now, normally this drive takes me anywhere from 10-11 hours, but today it took about 14 hours. I think the 2 hour nap I took today when I got to Oklahoma probably had a lot to do with it, and maybe the fact that I had to stop to pee every 30 minutes and stretch my knee out. Anyway, I'm here now and I finally got to give my sister her gifts that I bought her and SHE LOVED THEM!!! I'm so happy that she liked all the stuff...I think she was kind of wishy washy about some of the things that we got but for the most part everything was a pretty big hit.

Driving up today I was listening to the radio and one of the DJ's said something along the lines of making Easter a more politically correct holiday by changing "Easter eggs" to "Spring Spheres". I think this is absolutely stupid because a) eggs are not spheres, they're more of ellipses and b) how is saying Easter egg offensive? Anyways, I put the following as my Facebook status: "So to be more politically correct people have proposed to change Easter eggs to spring spheres...personally, if you don't like Easter, don't observe it and don't try to change it. You don't see me trying to make your religious holidays more politically correct so don't change mine." Hindsight, this was pretty in your face thing to say but at the time I was kind of appalled at people taking such offense to small things like that. Point of all this is that people made their comments, most agreeing with me except for one, Dayna Wetterman, and she actually instigated a HUGE argument between several people on my Facebook page and things spiraled way out of control over an argument about Easter. Some of the things she said were legitimate arguments and backed by fact, however she only chose to see one side of the argument. For example, "Easter Eggs are originally a Pagan tradition. Easter is actually a bastardized form of the original name Ostara or Ēostre. Which is a Pagan festival that celebrates the coming of spring. It originally had nothing to do with Jesus." Excellent point, then she follows up with this smart ass comment "the Christian church tends to try to force what they want on the population at large. I simply see this as a small taste of karmic retribution" WHAT THE FUCK IS KARMIC RETRIBUTION!?!?!?!!! What a shitty argument. I don't think she totally comprehends how the Easter of today became the Easter of today. Way back in the day when Christians were being persecuted for their beliefs they began celebrating their religious holidays to coincide with the Pagan holidays so that they wouldn't be killed. And it's the same thing with Christmas, yes, originally a Pagan holiday but now can be celebrated by both on the same day. That's the wonderful thing about time, lines start to fade and as far as we have come as humans we should be able to look past what the holiday means to Christians, Jews, Pagans, Muslims, etc. What people's personal beliefs are is totally up to the individual and I am in no position to try and sway someone and tell them that they are wrong. That's not my job, I shouldn't judge and that's not I was doing. What I was trying to point out was that people are way too sensitive these days and obviously I was right.


Whatever.


Now I'm watching Hoarders on A&E, I've never seen it before but I'm thinking it's 99.9% wonderful. Kinda freaks me out because I know EK is kind of a pack rat and I would hate to see her end up like that once she gets out on her own. If she does I'm totally going in there with guns blazing and I would throw EVERYTHING away...but that's just me. I hate clutter, I hate messes, dust, etc. I'm a neat freak to a certain extent. Obviously some things get a little messy but that only lasts about a week at most and then it's spotless again for a while. It's a never ending cycle. But I'm not afraid to throw shit out and I think that's EK's problem, she can't throw anything out.


I'm going home on Saturday and I'm pretty excited. I've got to pack up everything else I own in addition to doing something every night of the week but it's my last week in Houston, I'm going to be up here on the 1st of May, that is non negotiable. I've got school, a job, my pregnant sister, etc. I think it will be a good thing for me, to get away from everyone and start my own life, I can't wait. And if it doesn't work out, I can always deploy again. WHOO HOO!!!

Ok, long day tomorrow. Time for bed :]]

Monday, April 18, 2011

Ouch...

Well, since it's been a week since my last post (told ya I wasn't good at this journal thing) I figured I might as well catch you all up on my riveting life because I know everyone is holding their breath waiting to know what's gone on.

Let's see, Tuesday I did nothing, Wednesday I did nothing (like I said, riveting) and Thurday I went to Blur (gay club) with Clinton, Madi, Sam, Dianna, Christian, Javier and some other people and it was AWESOME! I got so drunk, I don't really remember much other than having a wonderful time. I want to go every day but I would be SO broke...

me and madi at blur :)

Well, that covers Thursday...Friday I went down to Smith Middle School and helped judge the Regional TSA competition. I forgot how much fun TSA was. I was supposed to go to the racetrack and see Wade Bowen with Kasy, Buck and some chick because Michelle had given me four tickets but the judging for TSA went on a little longer than planned so I didn't go, instead I went to a party at Ramiro's apartment with Clinton, Dianna and Christian and this boy made a 5 person beer bong...it was crazy...

5 person beer bong 

That pretty much takes care of Friday, I didn't really know anyone there and I left early so not much to talk about with that one...Saturday I was supposed to go to Aunt Suzy's lake house for the Templet Family Easter Party but I had a terrible migraine so I was holed up all day long and didn't do anything. I'm really upset that I missed it, I was looking forward to it too. Oh well, I'm sure I'll see them all again. I'm REALLY mad that I missed seeing Julie. 

Sunday is softball day :) and I played almost 4 games. I successfully completed 3 of them and the fourth didn't really end well for me. I was a force out at 2nd and hit the bag while trying to avoid the 2nd baseman, came down with all my weight on my heel, my knee bent backwards then popped and I hit the deck. I don't think I've been in that much pain in quite sometime. According to the 3rd baseman, he said it looked and sounded as if I hyperextended something in there but even now, a day later, walking is difficult and I feel like I got hit with a sledge hammer. I need to go to the doctor but I can't find one that accepts Tri Care which is the only one I have through the military. I might just head up to Ben Taub Hospital tomorrow and hit up the ER, I know they're a VA hospital so they'll have to treat me. But that's if it doesn't feel better by then...I would really love to just hit the road and head up to Kansas, I was supposed to be there today but Dad didn't want me to drive and I can't say I blame him...I'm glad I listened to him. But now, it's Drag Race time :) so I'm headed over to Clinton and Sam's. Madi is cooking dinner and I'm excited. I wish Elizabeth would come with me though.

Oh, I spent like $300 some odd bucks on baby stuff for SJ the other night, I'm SO excited! I can't wait for her to see it all...she's gonna be happy :)

Until next time.

Monday, April 11, 2011

Realizations Set In...

I'm beginning to realize some things that probably should have hit me a while ago but are just now setting in. And it's very depressing. I don't even feel like writing about anything today.

Sunday, April 10, 2011

The Clap...

Yesterday I was supposed to go to the beach with three kids I go to church with and some of their friends buuut that didn't happen because two of the guys driving got into a wreck with each other. I don't even know what to say about that. So, instead of the beach we ended up driving around for about four hours trying to figure out what else there was to do until someone came up with the idea of going to Addicks and swimming in the lake there. Let me just say right now, this was not actually a lake, it's more along the lines of being a retention pond. And it was nasty. First off, we had to walk to get there, we couldn't drive because there was a chance the Cops would see us and arrest  us. Second, these kids were saying stuff like cars were buried down there, people have found a dead body, etc. Why did I even go? Well, I wanted to go swimming. And I did. Now I might have herpes or the clap or some other horrid STD just from being in that water. It was pretty grody.

I would really love to go out drinking today but it's Sunday so that is probably not a good idea. Not that I have anything important to do tomorrow, but you really shouldn't get drunk on a Sunday. Besides, I'm not feeling too well and have backed out of softball. Truthfully, right now I would like nothing more than a cup of coffee, some food and more sleep. What of those things will I get? Probably just the food. I have a feeling that I'm not going to get a nap today, I have to work on some things around the house, get an oil change, wash and detail my car (again) and do some things for the Navy. For someone who doesn't work, I have a lot of crap to do. We'll see how much I get done today, maybe all of it, maybe none of it.

Elizabeth is back from Florida. There was a SNAFU with the douche she was staying with so I made an executive decision to bring her and her friend back to Houston. Of course now I'm out like $600 that I'll probably never see again but hey, at least my sister is safe. She's seriously unhappy, she even went to church today with my mother which is way out of character. WTF is going on? Maybe that's a sign that the world is ending. Who knows?

Friday, April 8, 2011

God Bless America but God damn Uncle Sam...

Not really sure how many people are aware of what's been going on lately up in Washington so I'm going to tell you...we are in the midst of a possible total shutdown of the Government. Why? Because lawmakers can't seem to find a common ground to stand on when it comes to the new budget. And the deadline for this new budget is midnight. Tonight. So what does this really mean? Well, from the military standpoint (and that's the one I care about since I'm in the military) our paychecks are halted, our VA benefits are cut and no one can apply to use the GI Bill until the Gov't is back up and running. Also, comissaries will be shut down, save for those overseas. What does this mean for everyone else? A closure would mean the furloughs of hundreds of thousands of workers and the services they provide, from processing many tax refunds to approving business loans. Medical research would be disrupted, national parks would close and most travel visa and passport services would stop, among many others. Damn! I should have filed my taxes earlier!!! Guess I can't flee the country now to hide from the IRS...and I'm off my soap box.

In other news...I drove back from Kansas today in record time. The drive should take ~12 hours for a normal driver however, I drive like I'm AJ Foyt and made the drive in ~9.5 hours. Ballin? I think so :)

Now is the time for me to clean my parents house since I'm here alone, start dinner and go rent a movie for me and my pops to watch. Steak and beer night. Love ittt!!!

Thursday, April 7, 2011

The Middle Sister

I'm not very good at keeping a journal or a diary so I'm not sure how well this blog is going to work out for me but I'm going to give it a try and just see what happens...just as a heads up to anyone who reads this, I've got tons of random thoughts and most of them are probably not appropriate but I am going to try my hardest to keep this blog as clean as I possibly can.


I am in the Navy Reserves and I don't want to be. I'm pushing my four year mark with one of those spent in Afghanistan (which, by the way, was one of the best years of my life) and I don't want to be in the Navy anymore. I am really, really considering going blue to green and joining the Army and going active duty. I was attached to the 82nd Airborne Division for four months and then the 101st Airborne Division for 8 months during my deployment and I got a really good feel for how the Army works and I like it a lot better than how the Navy works. Don't get me wrong, I like the Navy and I'll stay in for 20 years if I have to but I just have this feeling in my gut that the Army would be a better decision for me, both personally and professionally. I've been talking to some Army folk in my unit and some of the guys I was deployed with about crossing over so we'll see where it goes and what happens. I've got about 2.5 years left on my enlistment with the Navy and if I can't cross over before my enlistment is up then I guess I will just have to ride it out and then join the Army afterward. We'll see what happens.

Anyway, I'm in the process of moving up to Salina, Kansas from Houston so that I can get college started and I'm getting the feeling that it's not going to work out for me like I had hoped. I was all set to move up here about a month ago, I had a plan and now it's not falling into place like I had wanted it to. Granted, things never work out the way one would hope they would but this plan is so far off of what I wanted, I don't know what in the hell I'm going to do. As of right now my living situation has changed like 97,000 times. When I was up here last I found a room mate, we were looking at houses, life was grand. Now, turns out this girl is going to work at some camp during the summer and I have to find somewhere to live until then. Not really a problem except for the fact that I just need somewhere to stay for about three months that will accept pets, most places up here don't accept pets and if you want to rent a place, it's a six month lease minimum. Wonderful. Hopefully I'll figure it all out.

That's all for now, I have to go pick up my big sister. More tomorrow.