So I finally made my trip up to Kansas today, I left my house around 0330 and didn't get up here until 5 p.m. Now, normally this drive takes me anywhere from 10-11 hours, but today it took about 14 hours. I think the 2 hour nap I took today when I got to Oklahoma probably had a lot to do with it, and maybe the fact that I had to stop to pee every 30 minutes and stretch my knee out. Anyway, I'm here now and I finally got to give my sister her gifts that I bought her and SHE LOVED THEM!!! I'm so happy that she liked all the stuff...I think she was kind of wishy washy about some of the things that we got but for the most part everything was a pretty big hit.
Driving up today I was listening to the radio and one of the DJ's said something along the lines of making Easter a more politically correct holiday by changing "Easter eggs" to "Spring Spheres". I think this is absolutely stupid because a) eggs are not spheres, they're more of ellipses and b) how is saying Easter egg offensive? Anyways, I put the following as my Facebook status: "Easter Eggs are originally a Pagan tradition. Easter is actually a bastardized form of the original name Ostara or Ēostre. Which is a Pagan festival that celebrates the coming of spring. It originally had nothing to do with Jesus." Excellent point, then she follows up with this smart ass comment "the Christian church tends to try to force what they want on the population at large. I simply see this as a small taste of karmic retribution" WHAT THE FUCK IS KARMIC RETRIBUTION!?!?!?!!! What a shitty argument. I don't think she totally comprehends how the Easter of today became the Easter of today. Way back in the day when Christians were being persecuted for their beliefs they began celebrating their religious holidays to coincide with the Pagan holidays so that they wouldn't be killed. And it's the same thing with Christmas, yes, originally a Pagan holiday but now can be celebrated by both on the same day. That's the wonderful thing about time, lines start to fade and as far as we have come as humans we should be able to look past what the holiday means to Christians, Jews, Pagans, Muslims, etc. What people's personal beliefs are is totally up to the individual and I am in no position to try and sway someone and tell them that they are wrong. That's not my job, I shouldn't judge and that's not I was doing. What I was trying to point out was that people are way too sensitive these days and obviously I was right.
Whatever.
Now I'm watching Hoarders on A&E, I've never seen it before but I'm thinking it's 99.9% wonderful. Kinda freaks me out because I know EK is kind of a pack rat and I would hate to see her end up like that once she gets out on her own. If she does I'm totally going in there with guns blazing and I would throw EVERYTHING away...but that's just me. I hate clutter, I hate messes, dust, etc. I'm a neat freak to a certain extent. Obviously some things get a little messy but that only lasts about a week at most and then it's spotless again for a while. It's a never ending cycle. But I'm not afraid to throw shit out and I think that's EK's problem, she can't throw anything out.
I'm going home on Saturday and I'm pretty excited. I've got to pack up everything else I own in addition to doing something every night of the week but it's my last week in Houston, I'm going to be up here on the 1st of May, that is non negotiable. I've got school, a job, my pregnant sister, etc. I think it will be a good thing for me, to get away from everyone and start my own life, I can't wait. And if it doesn't work out, I can always deploy again. WHOO HOO!!!
Ok, long day tomorrow. Time for bed :]]
No comments:
Post a Comment